Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2

String Quartet No. 8

(Arranged for Piano by Boris Giltburg)

Sleeve notes

Diapason d'Or - Diapason, February 2017

Concerto Choice - BBC music magazine, February 2017

Giltburg offers fully projected, concert-hall-style accounts, with all the richness of pedal and no-holds-barred attack that would suggest.

Gramophone, January 2017 works astonishingly well: yes, one might occasionally miss the sustaining power of a string ensemble in some of the slower music, but weigh against this the sheer percussive brilliance of the piano, particularly in the faster, more demonic passages, not to mention the sheer depth of tone and single-minded focus that Giltburg brings to the music. And then there are dazzling new performances of Shostakovich's two piano concertos. ... Giltburg matched by superlative playing from the strings of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic under the sympathetic direction of Vasily Petrenko. ... As for Giltburg himself, he's on stunning form: not just secure of tone but kaleidoscopically colourful and emotionally wide-ranging, and above all with a superb clarity and sureness of touch

Financial Times, February 2017

With devastating precision, Giltburg ... has interpolated between the concertos his own piano reductions of one movement of the second string quartet and the entirety of the eight quartet, contemporaneous with the two piano concertos, exposing the composer's seditious inner thoughts. This is a constantly illuminating, almost faultless project.

Norman Lebrecht, January 2017